BBQ Guys 21" Kamado - NEED HELP on ideas for a deflector plate (not available for purchase anywhere)

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bmrenn

Original poster
Mar 7, 2022
Masters of meat,

Newbie here. Just getting into using this BBQGuys 21-Inch Kamado Grill & Smoker - BBQ-K-24B, Item #: 3062551, Model #: BBQ-K-24B. It's sold out now so I apolologize can't link to specs.

PROBLEM: while I fell for the stainless hardware and price point (as a trial to the kamado world) I am now suffering from the inability to purchase accessories that I woudl/ could buy with BGE of KJ of like size.

I've made a few things that surprisingly turned out great withOUT the deflector plate by shoving the coals to one side, but it's not ideal and pizza is almost impossible without the a deflector.

They don't offer one and never will so time to find my own solution. I just ordered this Onlyfire Pizza Stone Heat Deflector for Large Big Green Egg and Char-Griller AKORN Kamado, 17 1/2-inch, which by my measurements below SHOULD come close to fitting.

I am prepared with diamond grinder to grind this deflector to fit.

My Q's
1. (in theory) can that be done without shattering or destroying the amazon special deflector????
2. any tips?
3. any of you using this Kamado and if so what did you find (if any) to fit as a deflector?
4. any other ideas?

Thanks and looking forward to being a member here!

bbq inside.png
bbq outside.png

Sorry, I don’t have Kamodo, so I may be misunderstanding your issue, but I just googled Kamodo accessories and there are a lot of sites besides BBQ Guys? Is yours unique to only them? I didn’t go as deep as deflector plates, but from front page on Komodo Joe they had a pizza stone for $55, couldn’t that work as well?