Attempt at Ribs with 3-2-1 method varried results (not good - not horrible)

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokinjax

Original poster
So I have an offset reverse flow wood smoker made from a 100 Gallon tank. I am new to smoking and have spent most of the last few months tweaking and learning the smoker. I've got almost all the leaks sealed (last one is bottom and sides of smoker lid. I first tried nomex but the gaps were to big in places... so I went to rutland hi temp oven sealer and it worked great. (thanks to the forum for all the hints!!!).

So back to the ribs.

Fuel: Oak wood in firebox. Got it warmed up to temp and added some mesquite to it during the first 2 hours of smoking.  (finally didn't - over-smoke... )..

Temperature held pretty tight at around 230 - 240. I did have an instance where it jumped on me to 270 or so and another where it dropped to 195. These weren't for long as I was pretty quick to correct. We were camped out next to the smoker and its pretty easy to tell when the temp goes up.. sizzle gets going.

Rib Preparation: I prepped the ribs by:
  • Removing the  membrane
  • Cutting any excess fat
  • applying a pork dry rub (not impressed with this store bought one.. may try a recipe next time).
Cooking method:
  • As mentioned I used 3-2-1 method
  • Put in tin, sprayed down with some apple cider, and covered with foil during middle 2 hours.
  • Then placed back on rack to finish off.
Outcome
th_dunno-1%5B1%5D.gif

Well it seems like some parts were super, fall of the bone, tender and wonderful. Others were rather tough and not so tender. Even on the same rack of ribs, it varied.