Ash Trey Flavor on my food?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

forgiven1

Fire Starter
Original poster
Nov 28, 2016
Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to smoking, but I'm having a great time so far (mostly). One problem I keep having though is that nasty ash trey flavor on my food. I am using a Masterbuilt electric smoker, but not with the chip trey. I have a knock off of the amazin smoke tube, but I buy the genuine hardwood pellets (Hickory and Mesquite).

I have kept the pellets dry, and they seem to light/smoke ok. I keep the vent on the top wide open for the entire smoke. I read here your supposed to get thin blue smoke out the top and I think I am. It seems thin, and the pellets burn from one end to the other. I think the smoke has a slight blue tinge to it but I'm not 100% sure.

When smoking I noticed if the smoke goes directly up and hits the food I get creosote build up so I put a piece of foil below the first bit of food to prevent that and it seems to help. I can get a descent smoke on some salmon, I do it for only about 4 hours, and with the hardwood chips it comes out good. I do still taste the creosote a little in that but it's tolerable. I have noticed that where the racks touch the salmon I get black stripes of creosote though. The racks are sticky from it.