What's best to start with?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

thenegativeone

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Nov 12, 2014
Lincoln UK
As I'm new to smoking meats I was wondering how best to start out. I'm looking for something pretty simple that will let me learn the capabilities of my very cheap and cheerful smoker

Any advice you can give me would be great.

Chicken is always a good starting place. It is cheap and can take wide temp swings. It is also very tasty. While you are doing that keep notes of what you did. Learn to control your temps. Remember to post a Qview. Keep the lid closed and cook to IT not by time. Keep track of time so you will have an idea how long it will take next time.

Happy smoken.

David

Chicken is always a good place to start. However it's kind of a short smoke and if you overshoot the target temperature (165) by too much you might come out of it thinking smoked food isn't very good. I'd suggest a "fatty" (use the search function) followed by a pork butt. The fatty is quick and easy and hard to screw up, and the pork butt will give you an idea of how your smoker behaves over a longer haul, while still being damn near impossible to screw up. By the way, what cheap and cheerful smoker are you using?

Last edited:
Cheers for the advice guys. I'm using a very cheap (£25) smoker/BBQ I got off Amazon. Tectake I believe.
Hence I want something simple to smoke to judge how it heats up/ holds the heat/ contains the smoke and see what kind of mods I need to make to optimise it.

I realise that it is very cheap and am not expecting a lot from it but I figure if I can make passable food from a smoker this cheap it'll be worth a further investment down the road.