Can you cook a beef roast partway in the oven, and finish in the smoker?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

tienbien

Original poster
Dec 15, 2023
Hi all, newbie here. I'm going to be out of town over Christmas and trying to logistically figure out how to have a partially smoked beef roast on Christmas Eve without an actual smoker where we are going to be eating. :emoji_laughing: We are having the dinner at my mom's, and my uncle has a smoker and they live about 45 min away. I'm cooking the dinner and my uncle has generously offered to do the smoking part of the equation and doesn't want to show up until later.

The thing is, we need a big roast to feed 10 people, and we were planning on an early-ish dinner, which means there is just not enough time to smoke the whole thing. In the past, I've partially smoked a roast and transferred it to the oven to finish, but the oven at my mom's will be occupied and there won't be time to finish it there. I was thinking of getting up early, cooking it partially in the oven at my uncle's place, then handing it off to him to finish on the smoker, leaving to cook dinner at my mom's, and then having him bring it over when it's ready.

So I was thinking - has anyone ever done this? Partially cooked a roast in the oven, and finished it in the smoker? It seems logically like it should work, but when I googled it, all I could find was recipes for the reverse. So I thought I'd ask here. If so, how did it turn out? And if not, how would you go about doing it if you were to try?