Shirley Fab

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Kade

Fire Starter
Original poster
Mar 13, 2018
Lubbock, TX
Hello all,

I’m new to smokingmeatforums and was looking for a little help. I currently have a cheap offset that I’ve been cooking on for around 7 years. Needless to say I’m ready to upgrade to a big boy pit. I’ve scoured the web for custom pit builders and always seem to find myself looking at the Shirley fabs. I’m just about ready to pull the trigger, however, I’d love to see one in person first. I live in Lubbock Tx but do not mind traveling to DFW area, hill country, etc. If anyone has a shirley they wouldn’t mind me looking at I appreciate it.

I own a Lang, but have heard nothing but good things about a Shirley.
I think the only problem may be they have a long waiting list.
Al

"I think the only problem may be they have a long waiting list."

I believe that Al is correct. Several months ago I was looking to get a pit custom built and contacted Shirley. I've never seen one in person but their workmanship appears to be second to none. They were able to do the pit I wanted but the wait was interminable. Once I got the OK from the wife to get the new pit built I was not of the inclination to wait a half year or more to get it. If you're not in a hurry, I'd give serious consideration to one of these. I saw nothing but top-notch quality in everything of their's I looked at online. I believe there are some reviews here in SMF about them so you may want to do a search an see what you can find.

Not much help,
Robert

Thanks for the replies. Unfortunately the wait time is about 25 months right now! Sending my deposit in tomorrow. Gonna be a long two years..