Will drilling holes in smoker tray help?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

BorderBoy

Original poster
Oct 4, 2021
Canada
I have a Masterbuilt digital 30"smoker. I am noticing that often the second batch of chips don't ignite. They often leave the smoker tray full with partially burnt chips. I have read on some Masterbuilt forums that some people drill a series of small holes in the chip tray to help with combustion. I have also read that some people put the tray right on top of the coils to ensure ignition at lower temps. Are either of those ideas good solutions to this problem? It seems to be a common issue with the owners of this model. Apparently Masterbuilt raised the height of the chip tray on these new models and it is causing problems. Anyone else aware of this issue and what do you do?

Almost every MES owner here on SMF, has ditched the tray in favor of the A-Maze-N Smoker Tray or Tube or gone with a mail box mod.

If your MES model is one with the chip loader, try pulling the chip loader out about and inch or two or a little more to improve the air flow.

I went to a mailbox mod a while ago, but before that I’d pull the chip feeder out halfway to help with airflow. I’ve also just removed tray snd placed a chunk directly on the coils. I guess like so much here it is what you find works best for you.

Almost every MES owner here on SMF, has ditched the tray in favor of the A-Maze-N Smoker Tray or Tube or gone with a mail box mod.

If your MES model is one with the chip loader, try pulling the chip loader out about and inch or two or a little more to improve the air flow.
Thanks. It started smoking a lot more when I did that.