Help on Air intake - My attempt at "Mailbox mod"

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Runas06

Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
Hi SMF Master's,

I'm new to this forum, but have deep diving through all of your valuable contributions since Thanksgiving. Apologies in advance for this being a long-winded post. I'm still a total newbie, but tried my best to read through as much of the wisdom you all have compiled.

Just getting into smoking after my buddy let me borrow his MES30, completely stock, over Thanksgiving - I had the most delicious turkey of my life. I'm hooked now.

Bought myself a MES 30 (20071117 - apparently a hybrid of gen 1 and gen 2.5?), Leg kit, and cover on a great sale directly from masterbuilt (total under 200 for all of it)

I'm in the process of making my own spin on the mailbox mod. I used a 16" domed roasting pan made out of carbon steel. It has a rack at the bottom, which I thought was perfect to elevate the AMNPS for airflow. Cut off the handle so I can fix the adjustable adapter into it at the apex(pending hole saw getting delivered). Also gutted the interior housing.

I'm hoping to get some input on three things:

1. Does this design have any dumb "gotchas"?
2. I like the idea that I *think* Bear offered - fill the water pan with sand to increase thermal mass to help with temp fluctuations. Is this worthwhile or pointless?
3. Would you please offer me some suggestions on drilling air intake locations in my smoke "oval"? Since this is not a mailbox, I wasn't quite sure. The closest thing I could compare against was the popcorn tin mod, but I didn't see a description on air intake locations.

Thanks SMF!

PXL_20210114_224857661.jpg
PXL_20210114_224749766.jpg
PXL_20210114_224650207.jpg