When the lights go out...

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jp61

Master of the Pit
Original poster
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Mar 6, 2011
NE Ohio
Most of us I think take electricity for granted. Flip the switch and voila, the lights come on. Load up the fridge/freezer and our foods are safely stored. Push a button and poof, news and entertainment as much as you care to watch. But what happens when the power goes out, especially for an extended period of time? Do you have a emergency generator? Or are you like me... go find the flash light then try to remember where I put the candles and hope the power will come back on soon.

Have any of you invested in a emergency power generator?

If so, could you share your experience? 

I am a welder and have a miller trailblazer 301g and use it to back feed my house when the power goes out but the only problem is I bought it after hurricane fran came through. we were without power for 9 days. That was the longest period of time without power. since I bout it we havent been without power for more than a few hrs so I havent used it much to back feed.....looks like the power co has gotten better

That's very interesting! I've never heard of anyone using a welder for that purpose.

I'll have to seriously look into buying a generator. I know I can't afford what I'd like to have, which is a whole house generator, but  I should be able to get something and that's better than nothing when it's needed.

7000 watt Kohler here. way to many people rely on the norm. and therefore are Lost when it really counts. 

Nice rig! I like the truck..... what year is it? Looks like early 70's.