Watery Pork Butts

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

askmrhp

Original poster
Jul 3, 2016
Savannah,Georgia
The Smithfield brand pork butts have so much water in them that rubs and injections
kind of washing of my rubs. I am fairly new to smoking and sausage making I sometimes refer to his book. I do have some successes.
Maybe I should salt it or stick a faucet in it to drain out the water.
Jeff says to put the Butt in a pan towards the end of the end of the smoking time . When I
wrap the butt in foil I get a big puddle in the pan in the smoker.
Have any Ideas?
Thanks
Peter (askmrhp)

When you foil your going to collect the juices. They can be used for a finishing sauce if you like. If your butts are overly wet prior to smoking it's most likely enhanced. I would give them a rinse and pat dry with a paper towel. then set them on a plate in your fridge until your ready to throw them into the smoker. Put your rub on just before smoking.
Just my two cents.
Chirs

Take the butt out, rinse off well then dry the butt off with some paper towels, put a little mustard on it and put on your rub, wrap in saran wrap for 12-24 hours and you will be good to go. Not really sure I'm understanding what you are talking about though.

Are you talking about when your foil you get alot of liquid? or are you saying when you run it before putting it in the smoker you notice alot coming out?

Are you talking about when your foil you get alot of liquid? or are you saying when you run it before putting it in the smoker you notice alot coming out?
Smithfield pork butts are injected with water and other stuff(tenderizing). I dried the meat off and put the rub on