Very new to smoking

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

dirtydog207

Original poster
Mar 1, 2011
Yarmouth, Maine
My name is Chris, I live in Maine, I am 28. I am very very new to smoking. I only got the idea to make a smoker yesterday but I am already reading and learning a lot. My plan is to use a 55 gallon drum to make a smoker with. I am in the process of locating a drum now. I have enjoyed smoked meats many time but look forward to making my own cause I know I will all the time. I am a master griller according to my friends and family so this is the next step in being the best outdoor chef I can be.

I plan to use charcoal and wood chucks to smoke with. I stumbled across this site while surfing the web and writing recipes for rubs and whatnot. Look forward to interacting with you all.

I am already a member of a wine making forum which I check daily, so this should be easy to get into...

See you around

Chris

welcome to SMF.. lots of great people here and lots to learn.. search the wiki's and use the search bar you will be surprised on the info there.. Happy smoking
241.png

Welcome to SMF!! Lot's of folks here from all over with a variety of talents and methods. Hope ya learn as much or more than I have. For sure don't be shy with the questions, these folks are great with good info. 
welcome1.gif

Welcome aboard Chris, Lot's of folks here with smokers made out of 55 gal drums, (UDS, ugly drum smokers). Good luck with your build. Let us know how it turns out.