• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Uploading pictures

daveomak

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
26,761
4,237
Joined Nov 12, 2010
They will upload faster if you have the capability of resizing the pictures.... I resize mine because I have my camera set for HD and the pixel count is too high in a full size picture... Note the resize function in the window... makes a big difference in downloading or uploading or what ever the heck it is....

2018-04-13.png
 

bdskelly

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
5,741
1,674
Joined Feb 3, 2013
Thanks for the tip Dave I’ll go to the App Store and get a photo edit app. Happy Saturday buddy. B
 

daveomak

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
26,761
4,237
Joined Nov 12, 2010
My app is in windows 10.... or whatever I have... darned if I know...
 

daricksta

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
3,242
175
Joined Apr 27, 2012
Just a little feature and clearing up what may be confusing. So you can upload pictures a few ways depending if its a file from your computer or from a site like Flickr. So if your using the IMG tag you can just put it in with the text. You can use the picture icon
View attachment 339222
Then paste the url in the box that pops up.

But if you want to upload a bunch of pictures from your computer you can either click "upload a file" below the text box or click and drop them in the text box.
View attachment 339221
Here is where I think this is a cool feature. Once you have attached all the picture you want they will show in a box below the text box.
View attachment 339223
What this allows you to do is type your thread then just go to this box and click on either full image or thumbnail and it will insert the picture right where your typing.
View attachment 339224

So like I said this is a cool feature in my opinion. I hope this helps and doesn't confuse anyone.

Also if you do not insert the images into the text then it will just show the file as an attachment instead of inserted into the text.

Brian
Brian , this is a timely post because I wanted to upload a full size photo for a recent post but could only upload it as a thumbnail. Following your instructions I just converted the thumbnail photo into a full size one.
 

daricksta

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
3,242
175
Joined Apr 27, 2012
I was able to figure out how to post a full-size photo. But now I forgot what I did so I have to figure it out again.

This next problem to solve is how to cancel a draft. I don't see that option anymore.
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
42,815
15,183
Joined Sep 12, 2009
Just ran into this Thread:
Brings back memories of my first day on this New Platform.
Were it not for Brian Mudd talking me through my first couple Pics, I don't know how I would have gotten them posted!!!
About a week later & about 400 Pictures that week, I got it down pat.:D

Thanks Again Brian,
Bear
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
42,815
15,183
Joined Sep 12, 2009
I was able to figure out how to post a full-size photo. But now I forgot what I did so I have to figure it out again.

This next problem to solve is how to cancel a draft. I don't see that option anymore.

Can't you just delete everything in the Reply Box?
Then if you already hit "post reply", the empty box will be on the forum until a Mod deletes it.
And if you didn't already hit "Post Reply" you can just move on.

Bear
 

gmc2003

Epic Pitmaster
OTBS Member
11,662
6,471
Joined Sep 15, 2012
I don't think there's a way to get rid of a draft. I've tried numerous times - unsuccessfully. Let us know if you figure it out. Full size photo's from a computer just drag and drop them into your thread and click full size. Off a phone can't help you out sorry.

Chris
 

daricksta

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
3,242
175
Joined Apr 27, 2012
Can't you just delete everything in the Reply Box?
Then if you already hit "post reply", the empty box will be on the forum until a Mod deletes it.
And if you didn't already hit "Post Reply" you can just move on.

Bear
I'm going to test that out. I've tried it before with this new system, deleting the text, but when I returned to the window the text had reinstated itself. I was trying to avoid posting empty text boxes but I'll give it a try in a sec. But you remember the old Cancel Draft button (or whatever it was called), don't you?
 

daricksta

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
3,242
175
Joined Apr 27, 2012
Can't you just delete everything in the Reply Box?
Then if you already hit "post reply", the empty box will be on the forum until a Mod deletes it.
And if you didn't already hit "Post Reply" you can just move on.

Bear
Nope, the system won't allow you to post a box without any text. I guess I could just type in an emoji or write "goober" or something instead.
 

bmudd14474

Legendary Pitmaster
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Group Lead
8,885
1,784
Joined Jun 1, 2008
Screenshot_2.png
If you click on the disk icon -see picture - it will have an option of delete draft.
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
42,815
15,183
Joined Sep 12, 2009
Nope, the system won't allow you to post a box without any text. I guess I could just type in an emoji or write "goober" or something instead.

OK---Just put an Asterisk in.
That will hold it until a Mod can get rid of it.
It's better than posting something you don't want seen.

Like say you cussed me out, but then thought about it & remembered "Bear's a Nice guy".
All you have to do is Delete the whole works & put a asterisk there instead.

Or you can just post "Mods, please delete this post."

Thanks,
Sign It

I do remember a Cancel button from somewhere---Is that where it was?
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
42,815
15,183
Joined Sep 12, 2009
OOOPS---It took me longer to type that than it took Brian to tell how to do it right.

Thanks Brian!
Bear
 

daricksta

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
3,242
175
Joined Apr 27, 2012
OK---Just put an Asterisk in.
That will hold it until a Mod can get rid of it.
It's better than posting something you don't want seen.

Like say you cussed me out, but then thought about it & remembered "Bear's a Nice guy".
All you have to do is Delete the whole works & put a asterisk there instead.

Or you can just post "Mods, please delete this post."

Thanks,
Sign It

I do remember a Cancel button from somewhere---Is that where it was?
Yep. Thanks to Brian for pointing it out where it is now. But, the old system was much simpler. Microsoft has the same problem with taking a simple to understand system configuration and updating it into something complex with every new Windows OS version.
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
42,815
15,183
Joined Sep 12, 2009
Yep. Thanks to Brian for pointing it out where it is now. But, the old system was much simpler. Microsoft has the same problem with taking a simple to understand system configuration and updating it into something complex with every new Windows OS version.

That kinda stuff doesn't bother me as much as most, because everything "Computer" is hard for me, until I do it a few times. Even with my Macs.
That's why we have Brian around here. You didn't think he was just here for his good looks, did you?
Just kidding, Brian.

Bear
 

Catfish61x

Newbie
SMF Premier Member
25
2
Joined Nov 30, 2018
I use Chromium Browser on Linux. Im unable to upload pics . In order to upload pics i have to do it in firefox which i dont like using . Is there a way to fix this problem ?
 
Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.