Turkey and electric smoker capacity

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mikeemcg

Original poster
Nov 24, 2013
Kentucky
I have a Landmann GOSM 40" electric smoker. The thing is very roomy. I have a 16 lb natural turkey which I was going to dry rub/salt and then smoke starting early in the morning for a 1:00 pm meal. I've done turkeys on the Weber with charcoal and chips before and they cook fast, but I'm obviously planning on this taking longer. I'm new to the smoker, but I did run it last weekend with good results and did a dry (empty) run earlier today to see where the grate-level temperature hovers. Though the thing's highest setting is 275, it eventually (about an hour) reached and maintained in the 305 to 310 range.

I plan to follow the "ultimate turkey" recipe and plan from amazingribs.com, which includes putting a water bath under the turkey for the drippings and later, the gravy source.

So my questions:

1. I have an aluminum tray that I plan to use for the drippings and the water/gravy additions. It is large enough to sit under the turkey, which means it leave very little space around the edges before the inside walls of the vault. I can bend it easily but there will likely be only about an inch all sides. Is that a problem?

2. I just discovered I have 6 additional guests tomorrow. I can get another fresh turkey, probably about 10 lbs. I think I can arrange the water/drip pan on the bottom and fit the turkeys on different grates/levels above it. Is there a problem with cramming so much in the smoker?