TP20 vs Inkbird IRF-4S

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

epwillis

Original poster
Jun 11, 2019
Looking to buy a wireless thermometer for my new masterbuilt and can't decide between the Thermpro TP20 or the Inkbird IRF-4S, both seem like really nice thermometers. I just don't want to purchase the TP20 with only two probes and later on down the road regret not buying something with more probes. I am very new to smoking so I am just trying to get some reviews or comparisons between the tow of them. At most I want an ambient probe and a meat probe but the extra meat probe ability would be great. I have a masterbuilt 340G and smoked my first pork butt last weekend and the built in meat probe was reading 23°F higher than my handheld Javelin Pro.

Reactions: JLeonard
I have both the TP 20 and IRF-4S.
The TP 20 is relegated to grill duty now because it only has a high temp alarm.
Where as, the IRF-4s does allow you to program for a Hi-Lo alarm using the OVEN setting which is a must have for over night smokes.
The IRF-4s costs more, but it is well worth it to have those extra probes.
It is darn accurate and has fast response times too.
Plus having the rechargable batties via USB that seem to last forever between chargings cannot be beat.

The TP20 does a Hi-Lo alarm as well, if set to BBQ mode. Sounds like the Oven setting described for the Inkbird.

Overall I like my TP20 so far, but haven't gotten fancy with it. Kinda wish I could reprogram some of the preset temperatures and can see wanting to support more probes in the future.

Reactions: epwillis
The TP20 does a Hi-Lo alarm as well, if set to BBQ mode. Sounds like the Oven setting described for the Inkbird.

Are you sure you don't mean the TP-08??