Tough casings

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

danbono

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
Feb 19, 2012
North New Jersey Paramus
Hi All I hot smoked some home made sauageThey were nice and juicy but once again the natural hog casings were tough.What am I doing wrong.I let the sauage airdry for about 1 hr before smoking.Smoke at 250 for about 1 hr with apple wood.
THanks Dan

Dan........I'm new to sausage making but I was told once that soaking the casings overnight would be a big help for tough casing. I'm not sure if this is the right answer but it does seem to make mine softer before I stuff them.

Brad

Hi All I hot smoked some home made sauageThey were nice and juicy but once again the natural hog casings were tough.What am I doing wrong.I let the sauage airdry for about 1 hr before smoking.Smoke at 250 for about 1 hr with apple wood.
THanks Dan
Dan, afternoon.....  Try smoking at 150 ish so the casings don't cook....   Add a small cup of water to the smoker, to keep the casings from drying out....  all you need is a little humidity to prevent that.....  after you have added enough smoke, try poaching in 160 ish degree water until final IT has been achieved....   I have re smoked, after the poach, to add more smoke also and that works for me....

Dave

Last edited:
Hi Dave Will give your suggestions a try next time. I was smoking a brisket and put the sausages in for a tatse. Next  time when the brisket is done and the temps get lower I will try your way.

Thanks Dan

Hi Dave I forgot to mention is was NO cure in the home made sausage.Would it be safe to cook/smoke at 150ish?

Thanks Dan

Last edited: