Too Much Smoke?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

maddog

Original poster
Dec 30, 2009
I am a rookie and need a little advice. I recently built a brick smoker with a small firebox. The heat from the firebox enters the bottom of the smoker chamber and exits the stack, basically a vertical smoker. The smoke chamber holds a good 6 butts so it is not too big. Anyway, I have been using only fire wood mixing maple, hickory and dogwood (heavy smoke similar to oak). I have mastered the heat flow of the smoker.

My next step is to get the smoke quantity and quality correct. What do I need to consider when using only wood? My product is very smokey to the point of being over bearing. Do I need to go with char-coal and mix in the wood? Should the wood be burned down to coal first (hard to do with a connected firebox.)? Help.

It seems most stick burners you run into are offsets. In a vertical I think you better burn the wood down some or do a mixture of coals and wood.

Good smoke on right.

Oh, the firebox is offset and the heat/smoke enters on the side at the bottom.

If your using only wood you would need to either use a burn barrel to burn the wood down to coals then put them in the smoker or get a good fire going and let it burn down to coals before putting the meat on... then add small pieces to the burn to keep the heat going. Or... as you suggested... go with charcoal and add small bits of wood chunks for the smoke.

I've always heard of folks using a mild flavored wood for heat and just a little bit of smoke wood for flavor. Seems I've heard a common ratio is something like: 75% oak & 25% hickory