• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

To Wrap OR not to Wrap

Twinrebs

Joined Feb 25, 2020
I just bought a Traeger Pellet Smoker from a friend. Still in very good shape. I'm a novice when it comes to this stuff so here goes my question. Regarding a Boston Butt: one friend says to put it in the smoker unwrapped for 3-4 hours at 225 then take it out and wrap until temp gets to 195 F. Another friend says to put it in the smoker at 225 unwrapped and let it cook longer (12 hours or so) without wrapping and take it out at 195 F then let rest for 4 hours.

Settle this argument for me. Thanks!

smokerjim

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Joined Jan 14, 2014
I should of added i'm not sure you'll settle your argument, not sure if there is a right or wrong way.

SmokinVOLfan

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
Joined Feb 27, 2018
Jim said it right. Not a right or wrong way. Grab two butts and try one each way and see which one you like better. I personally like to wrap mine about 160 degrees and take to 203 and then pull it out and let it rest in a cooler with old towels for a minimum of two hours before I pull it. Drink a few cold ones and enjoy the process!

sandyut

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Joined Feb 18, 2015
there are people in both camps here...wrappers and non wrappers.

I stopped wrapping anything.

normanaj

Smoking Fanatic
SMF Premier Member
Joined Feb 2, 2014
I personally don't wrap.Finish temp can vary...195 is not the be all temp,I've had butts go as high as 208 before done.195 is a temp to start testing for doneness.

chilerelleno

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Joined Oct 17, 2016
There is no one answer to whether to wrap or not.