Summer sausage

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Chris1234

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jan 15, 2018
I’ve been making summer sausage for a few months now with great success. All I’ve been using are the different kits though when it seems like the ingredients they put in their packets, I already have at home. (Could be wrong) Does anyone have any good recipes they’d like to share?

I just made jalapeno and cheddar summer sausage. Turned out real good...Here's the recipe I used. I did not do numbers 3, 4, 16....no reason other than I didn't have them....lol

1) 5 lbs coarse ground lean beef
2) 5 lbs course ground fatty pork butt/shoulder
3) 3/4 cup + 1 tblsp low fat cultured buttermilk
4) 2 tblsp non-fat dry milk, for binder 5)
5) 2 tsp Prague Powder #1
6) 4 tblsp + 2 tsp kosher salt, can substitute 4 tblsp of pickling salt
7) 2 tblsp whole mustard seed
8) 3 tblsp coarse ground black pepper
9) 4 tsp sugar, for fermenting to get tang.
10) 1 tblsp garlic powder
11) 1 tblsp onion powder
12) 2 tblsp paprika
13) 1 tsp ground marjoram
14) 1/4 tsp ground ginger
15) 1/4 tsp ground coriander
16) 10 tsp ECA (optional but highly recommended)
17) 1 lb high temp pepper jack cheese

Reactions: Chris1234