Summer Sausage Question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

iaswam

Original poster
Nov 6, 2014
Oregon
Hi all,

I am new here, and I have to say, I like what I have read so far. I made a batch of summer sausage, pulled it out at 158 degrees. I let it cool, sliced it open, and noticed it had a pink ring and a grey center. the texture is the same throughout the sausage. Is it cooked all the way through? What caused this?

Thanks for any and all input!

Welcome to the forum. What recipe and cure did you use? More info on the method you used to make it would be helpful as well as photos.

Sorry. I'm a novice smoker. That would be some good info to share. Lol

Here goes:

3 lbs. Ground beef
1.5 lbs. Ground pork
Smokehouse brand summer sausage cure/seasoning
Summer sausage - type casings

Mixed meat according to directions. Stuffed casings. Cured in refrigerator overnight.

Smoker info:
Super Chief pellet smoker
(Thermostat not accurate)
Smoked for 3 hours at approx. 140ish.
Cooked for about 2 hours until meat thermometer read 158.

Last edited:
What type of thermometer did you use to check your internal temp? I'm hoping some of the guys with more knowledge will chime in. If your internal temp was 158 you should be o.k.

Last edited:
I used a standard, dial-type thermometer that was brand new. After the 3 hour smoke I inserted it lengthwise into the center of one of the sausages. It read 136. After a couple more hours it hit 158.

Check your thermometer in boiling water.... Where do you live.... please place that info in your profile... It will help answering question like this....