Summer sausage and other sausage internal temperatures?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

hangmanli

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Feb 2, 2017
Long Island, NY
fellas,

I’m new to smoking and just bought a Bradley digital 4 rack smoker.

I did 25 lbs of summer sausage with the LEM seasoning packet with Instacure. I used the 2 1/2” burgundy fibrous casings.

realized that I overloaded the smoker the first time with 20 pounds. It took almost 24 hours for the internal temperature to get to 160° . The 5 pound batch went much quicker in about 8 hours.

I have read different things about the desired internal temperature of summer sausage or other sausages.
I’ve read 160 degrees, 155 degrees and 152 degrees.

I just received the book by Rytek Kutas and have started to read it.

What is the best desired internal temperature for sausages? Using Instacure of course

Thanks for any helpful advice

Last edited:
Reactions: Nawlinsboy2007
I’m using 60% venison and 40% pork

With the Instacure is that a Safe temperature for preventing Botulism?

I’m a newbie and want to try to learn all the nuances of smoking, along with the do’s and dont’s.

Reactions: Nawlinsboy2007
Yes 152 is safe, and that is where most of the guys take it too.
As long as you used the proper amount of cure #1.
Al

Look into water bathing to finish the sausage. I run large batches and the first time mine took forever to finish as well, not 24 hours but long enough. After doing some searching I found a wealth of info on this forum about hot water bathing the smoked sausages to get them up to target temp. It works really slick and gets them up to temp faster.

Thanks for the info.

How does the hot water bath system work in conjunction with smoking?