Suggestions for Regulating Temp or New Smoker?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

TO19

Original poster
Nov 18, 2018
Please read and offer your thoughts...maybe this will help others who are flying blind like I was. I have a Masterbuilt 30" Elec Digital Smoker. I've always "trusted" the temp settings and, honestly, had mixed results. I previously used a meat thermometer only in the meat but recently replaced / upgraded my thermometer with a 4 probe ThermPro. Smoking salmon today and have a probe each in 2 pieces of salmon and 2 probes to measure the air temp...which is the first time I've done this. What a surprise. Set the smoker for 160 and the temp shot straight up to 250. I dialed it down to 145 and the air temp slowly dropped to 155 or so. i thought I'd tweak it up to 150, hoping to maintain around 160 in the smoker. When I did it shot up to 210 before I turned it back down. What I think I'm seeing is that the Masterbuilt smoker is on full bore, or it's off and slowly dropping. Anyone else ever noticed this? I am very comfortable with the meat thermometer readings as they are very close together.

So, do I live with the run up and run down in temps? Any way to steady the temps? Or, is it time to look for a different smoker? If so, what do people recommend? Being able to reliably regulate the temp is important to me. Appreciate any feedback.

All smokers will swing temps, most of the time it wont make a lot of difference, it can average out and you might never know the difference imo.

Reactions: 801driver and SKade