1. Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Stupidity

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by krj, May 15, 2019.

1. krj

krj Meat Mopper

Was browsing imgur today and came across this. I can't even deal with how dumb this is. Honestly, this is what keeps me up at night thinking about first time cookers trying their hand at this hobby. They find this crap info and turn out something horrible, and then just give up completely. That scares me.

[​IMG]

Bearcarver and Smiller15 like this.
  2. motolife313

motolife313 Master of the Pit OTBS Member

Looks like a decent guide to get someone started to me.

3. Smiller15

Smiller15 Newbie

I'd still say I'm a novice but even as so I know offhand I leave my brisket on until about 195 internal temp and pork butt around 200. Haven't really tried a lot of other things on that list yet.

motolife313 likes this.
  4. krj

krj Meat Mopper

You might wanna look at the finished temps again. You want people cooking a brisket to 175 or butts to 165? Are these the "safe" doneness temps? Yes, but those temps are far and away from what those cuts need to be brought to.

JC in GB likes this.
  5. motolife313

motolife313 Master of the Pit OTBS Member

Ya the brisket and butt was a little off lol. Everything else is close so it ain’t that bad

6. HalfSmoked

HalfSmoked Smoking Guru Group Lead OTBS Member SMF Premier Member

Depends on how you look at it pork butt for slicing and not pulled would be a little over cooked as 145 is new guide line. Poultry breast 165 is good legs and thighs no so as said depends on what your doing.

Warren

7. ristau5741

ristau5741 Meat Mopper

the bone in chicken to 165 bothers me. s/b 175 just to be on the safe side. Boneless chicken at 165 should be ok.

whole chicken at 210 for 4 hours, to 165. not realistic. other stuff looks fairly good tho

8. bregent