Strange smoking results with chicken

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

chefsebby

Original poster
Feb 19, 2022
Okay so I'm an experienced chef, but a beginner smoker. Did some chicken tonight and had some weird results and not sure what to make of it. I will be as detailed as possible below to make this easier on everyone.

I'm using a small Rival electric smoker, it can fit about a whole chicken and not much more. Pellets inside with about 1/2 cup of water in the dish.

I turned the smoker on and let it go for about 30ish minutes, when i checked the temp inside it was around 260-270 so i threw my chicken in there, they took up all of the space of the cooking area.

About 1.5 hours later I removed them and was very disappointed. They seemed "dirty" instead of smoked. Like they look almost covered in soot. Also, some were darker than others, some seemed like they hardly got any color to the skin.

I removed those and went to smoke my next project which was some ground beef. I also had one drumstick that wouldn't fit in the last batch so I threw it in there. About an hour later I had the most amazing drumstick ever. The color was beautiful, the skin was rendered and the flavor was perfect. When I looked at the oven thermometer inside it said it was only about 170-180 in there at the time.

1.png

I've attached a picture to help with this as well.
Chicken 1 & 2 are from that first smoke session. 1 shows the light color to the skin and 2 shows a darker color, but also the dirty/sooty look to it
Chicken 3 is the one that came out as I wanted it to.

To me, this obviously seems like a temp issue. With the first batch, did I throw them in when it was too hot and the smoke was too much?

Thanks for any advice,
Sebastian