Soapy Water Test for Leak Propane, can you hear the bubbles pop???, Masterbuilt says you can

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokingasian

Original poster
Jun 23, 2020
Hi All, this is my first time posting, so my apologies if I am posting this in the wrong thread. But I have something that concerns me, and I hope you can help bring clarity to the matter. Please skip to my last paragraph I highlighted in red if you want to skip my background and why I am even coming up with this question.

A little on my background, is I started outdoor cooking for about 15 years. I have a Kamado, a propane grill, a standing dual fuel smoker from Masterbuilt, and now a Camp Chef Woodwind pellet smoker because my Masterbuilt 230s caught in flames after its 3rd use within a month of purchase.

The question I have is with my 230s masterbuilt smoker I bought from Home Depot. Trying to get in the smoking game, I decided to go with a simple smoker and build myself up. I had 2 successful cooks, around 6-8 hours each. But with my third cook, the smoker caught on fire after 6 hours when I was using the propane fuel source. A fire appeared in the exterior of my smoker and melted my control module which included the propane regulator, and the igniter. It also burnt my fingers, but that was my fault as I tried to turn the fire off by the propane regulator on the smoker, and not stopping the fuel source from the propane tank.