smoking saved my house

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

installman

Original poster
Jul 4, 2008
Florida
I tried to take Dave's advice and do a packer, but none were available, so I had to settle for a flat. I am still learning how to use the Traeger, and I have already decided I want/need a digital controller for it. The brisket came out really tasty and the plan was to throw some potatoes, onions, and garlic in to smoke while it rested. I had just pulled the brisket out and carried it into the kitchen when the wife started hollering " what are you doing in there, I smell something burning?" I was confused as the brisket didn't smell like something burning, so I set it on the stove and headed for the living room wondering what was going on. As I entered the living room I started to smell something burning too, smelled like electrical wires burning( don't ask how I know that smell lol). We were frantically searching for the source for a few minutes and then my oldest daughter says "dad it's under the fish tank" I ran over and looked in the cabinet and the pump was on fire. I unplugged everything and started yelling for water, and the fire extinguisher. Luckily it only took 2 glasses of water to put it out. Once the fire was out, I went out and put the veggies on the grill and headed to lowes to get some fittings to hook up my spare pump to keep my fish from dying. Once I got back and done with the repairs I realized that this brisket may have saved my house from burning because if I had not been smoking all day we would have most likely been out somewhere when the fire started. After all the excitement  and about a 2 hour rest for the brisket we still had a great dinner.

7 am getting ready to go out.