Smoking on a Ketlle BBQ

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

plofty1981

Original poster
Aug 4, 2014
I'm a proper newbie to this forum and smoking.

I want to used a charcoal kettle grill to make pulled pork, ribs, brisket etc.

I have done some research and come out with various different set ups that have left me a little confused on which is best.

This information may already be somewhere else on the forum and if it is apologies and please direct me, otherwise can anyone give me a beginners set up that'll work and then I can through trial and error works on and improve to suit me?

Many thanks!

Paul

Reactions: camping hoosiers
Howdy Paul.  Yes, there are many ways to smoke on a Kettle.  By asking what is best you'll get techniques people have used successfully.  Here's mine.

I have a Smokenator in my Kettle, a $70 "heat fence" that is really just a bent piece of metal but it does work great.  What it does is direct all the heat vertically instead of letting some of it radiate horizontally.  You get nice air circulation with it and can control your temps with the top vent.  It takes a little trial and error to control your temps but you can get quite good at it.  You can smoke like the pros with it.  A hinged cooking grate is a necessity with either the Smokenator or a firebrick setup.  Hinged grates are like $15.  I took the hinged section completely off mine so I could more easily access the space when I needed to recharge the fuel.