Smokin' and buildin' in KY!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

BluegrassSmoker

Original poster
Sep 4, 2019
Hey everyone. New to the forum, but this seems like the place to be! I am an adventurous cook and builder. I tend to get interested in various forms of cooking and go way too deep into them. Luckily I work for a place called FirstBuild (innovation space for GE Appliances) and get to play around with food and building appliances to make food better pretty much every day!

Kinda quick story about how I got into smoking.....

It started about two years ago when me and the guys at work built a fridge smoker out of a 1950's GE refrigerator from Craig's list. We gutted it, lined it with oven insulation, built a stainless steel liner for it, added oven racks, a Bradley smoke generator, an oven calrod with a PID controller that we designed, and made an app for it so that we could monitor and control it remotely.

Fridge Smoker.JPG

Then we started having BBQ Wednesdays for everyone at the shop... Pretty fun. We keep refining the design of it to fix rookie mistakes, but overall it is pretty awesome. We are working on a V3 of it now.