Smoker/grill combo ideas?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Mooncatt

Original poster
Jun 12, 2019
Wisconsin
Another newbie here. I'm starting to consider my first serious smoker purchase, possibly next year if budget allows, so trying to figure out what I want now. To give you an idea where I'm coming from, this is what I currently use.

0729170659.jpg

Laugh all you want (seriously, I don't mind!), but I've been able to do well enough on it. This was smoking about a 14 lb brisket, which people around here enjoyed a lot. Then again, this is Wisconsin, but I'm from Texas and would like my standards a bit higher. Lol. So here's what I'm needing.

I have a large family with my 7th kid on the way. I grill more than smoke, so I'd like something that can do both in the main compartment. The grilling ability in the fire box of offset smokers is just not enough, and my 26" Webber is now undersized. I was thinking something like this.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Dyna-Gl...et-Smoker-in-Black-DGSS962CBO-D-KIT/301579506

I don't know much about the Dyna-Glo brand, other than this one is designed to grill in the main compartment from the start. I thought about a reverse flow offset, but wasn't finding any that could pull double duty like this without either being messy or taking a lot of extra work with every use.

Being in Wisconsin, cold weather is obviously a concern, but I don't really smoke in the winter. We do have a tradition of grilling steaks for Christmas, so it will see winter use. My kettle does fine, so I don't think heat loss will be a huge issue for grilling.

I mostly smoke ribs or brisket, but would like to try other stuff with a better smoker.