Smoked garlic dill salmon/potato "CHOWDER" Qview

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mauismokemeats

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Feb 19, 2009
Maui, Now here in Las Vegas
Hey guys, thought I'd share with all of you one of the best chowders you'll ever have. I've been a chef for several years and now do it as a hobby. With this recipe you can add your favorite smoked (or non smoked) seafood, chicken etc to have a hearty chunky "onolicious" (we say in Hawaii) you can eat it with a fork but use a spoon type of chowder that will have you family and guest beggin you for the recipe.

I chose to do a Smoked garlic/dill salmon and potato chowder, as I had the salmon as part of our meal with some smoked tri tip ( will post on beef thread)

Here goes:

Started out with some nice fresh salmon from the market

Took the skin off

Seasoned it real good, first give the salmon a really good coat of virgin olive oil all over, then seasoned with garlic salt, garlic pepper, fresh garlic and fresh dill (chopped fine) on both sides, Oh this smoked garlic just gave it a great taste.

Off to the smoker. Already had some tritip and 2 potatoes (for the chowder) going.

While the salmon was smoking I started my chowder base; started with a cup each of chopped onion, celery and carrots. In the pot I melted a stick of butter (oh yes this is hearty rich style chowder) carefull to not burn the butter, watch the fire and keep on a light saute', sauted the vegies till the carrots was tender about 10 minutes or so.

Gotta have some garlic, added tablespoon or so of fresh minced garlic and continued to cook till carrots were tender

Once the carrots are tender add about 1/8cp of olive oil