• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

REC TEC 700 capacity

dacfan

Smoke Blower
130
16
Joined Feb 4, 2009
I am currently considering upgrading to a rec tec 700 and i was wondering how many turkeys can you smoke on it at once?
 

paprika pal

Smoke Blower
106
19
Joined Mar 21, 2010
I don’t really know but I can put one 15 lb turkey on my Daniel Boon (458 square inches) and it cooks even. With 1000 square inches you have I would guess 2 turkeys. Maybe three medium size but it probably would cook the best with 2. Just my opinion. Hope it helps.
 

tx smoker

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
3,783
4,413
Joined Apr 14, 2013
Based on the size of mine I was gonna say 4 but Thomas beat me to it. They have a large second shelf available, which came with the package I bought, and you could easily get 2 more on that. Great chart though!!

Robert
 

sandyut

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
2,171
1,420
Joined Feb 18, 2015
cool chart! I run a 700 here and love it! i would say get one!
 

dacfan

Smoke Blower
130
16
Joined Feb 4, 2009
I had been saving for a Yoder YS640s but my 3 year old decided to throw a nerf gun at my 65 inch Samsung that was less than 2 years old. After buying a new tv and a stand, I've got just enough left for a rec tec. I'm trying to force myself to want one. Not having much luck, I love the size but the 2 big issues I'm having with it is 1. its not made in America, and 2. no way to direct grill over flame. These are two things you can get with a Yoder, but boy do they make you pay a premium for it.
 

sandyut

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
2,171
1,420
Joined Feb 18, 2015
the rec tec is a great unit. I sear on my gasser for now. I want a busseye but they keep selling out. I could make peace with the yoder costs, weight, and rust issues
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.