Reactivated

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

superruss

Original poster
Mar 7, 2020
Thanks for letting me in, I'm 63yrs old and I'm doing now as a hobie what I did for a living, there's something wrong with me. I cut meat for about a decade or more in my twentys working for independent meat markets from California to Texas I also became a drunk, getting fired or just running away from each job. Fast forward 40 years I got sober 20 years ago and learned to do things differently, I don't make "work" out of things as I used to do , I've slowed down and can find great pleasure in simple things. Couple years ago I bought a pellet smoker and started making smoked meats and sausage. I give away some and eat the rest, on January 1 I started eating "primal" ( plants and animals) I've lost 38 lbs and if you squint...i look pretty good ! So even tho I have some skills as a journeyman butcher, I'm at best rusty. Hope y'all can share some skills and recipes with me...
Thanks Russ
PS...i know how to get and stay sober ( happlie) if there's anyone out there struggling I'm happy to share that too!

Reactions: JC in GB
Welcome back to the land of the living Russ. Great story and thanks for sharing. If you're looking for info, recipes, tips, tricks of the trades, this is the place to find all of that. A great forum for sure and full of people available to help at the drop of a hat. Don't be afraid to jump in and ask questions or answer somebody else's question if you can. Glad to have you aboard!!

Robert

S superruss

Looks like you got it all together brother! I for one am impressed and happy for you.