Question about propane and using a regulator

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jester805

Original poster
Nov 24, 2018
Hi Guys,
I am new so please don't flame me for asking. :)
I have a 30 inch propane Masterbuilt smoker that is several years old. I don't use it very often, but it performs Ok for me when I do use it.

I started thinking about getting a new/bigger smoker. I've been reading a lot about the differences between electric & propane. I also see where several people (including myself) have the problem of turning down the dial on the smoker low enough to achieve the ~250 degree range; almost to the point of being blown out by a slight wind. I thought about buying a regulator with the needle valve. Do I also need to put screws in roughly half of the holes in my burner? If I regulate/slow the flow of the fuel, and I am then able to turn the dial up a little higher on my smoker, won't my flame still be really low?

Without actually seeing it in action, I am trying to grasp the idea of using the regulator to achieve the ~225 degree range (with propane) without worrying about the fire being blown out.

Is an electric smoker the better route for a novice like myself? Other than cooking a turkey, I don't know when I would actually want the temp higher than ~250.

To me it seems odd that (generally speaking) electric smokers peak around ~250 or so while propane smokers run ~250 at the minimum. Is there a smoker (or better fuel source) that would run consistently in the ~200 to ~400 degree range)?

Hope that all makes sense. Thanks in advance.