Q: Reducing Salt in Recipe

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

DailyLunatic

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jan 11, 2023
Ban Ko Kaeo, Thailand
First, I know not to adjust the ratio of Curing Salt. But as a beginner, I'm not certain how much I can adjust the regular salt. First time I made, I figured I'd just stubbed my toe, but second time it is still too salty. I want to adjust but not certain that it is not a part of the curing process.

Should that salt ratio be maintained as well? ...or is it treated as just another seasoning?

If your recipe has sugar, that will offset the saltiness to some degree as well.

I do 1.5% regular salt in addition to the 0.25% cure#1 .......... 1.75% total salt.
Are you saying you should never drop below that ratio of total salt?

Edit: Specially, is it SAFE to make the adjustment? Currently, the recipe is 1.6% salt, and 0.3% cure. I'd like to try 1.0% salt and 0.3% cure. Is that safe?

-sterling

Last edited:
I make fresh sausage at 1/2% salt. No worry on cure time there.
I made my last cure at 1% total salt and no sugar. Cure time is roughly double without the added salt to help with nitrite penetration.

Most recipes I adapt have more salt than I use. I think some go even lower, but remember, from a safety standpoint, salt and cure both play a role in safely smoking below the danger zone.

I made my last cure at 1% total salt and no sugar. Cure time is roughly double without the added salt to help with nitrite penetration.
Just who I was hoping would come by and weigh in.

My understanding has always been don't go below 1.5% total salt for safety. This would mean 1.26% salt and .25% cure #1 for rough measurements.