Propane question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

flyinlizard

Fire Starter
Original poster
  I am brand new to this and wondering how long "approx." will  20lbs of propane  last on a master forge 50.15 unit cooking at temps around 225 for brisket and butts.   Getting my smoker from Lowes next week ,can't hardly wait..

I'm not familiar with that smoker but I have a GOSM Widebody vertical and I logged a 20 lb tank once and I quit logging when I hit 42 hours and it probably went another 4 or 5. Cooked at about 215*-250* the whole time.

On my Camp Chef 24"....have a 20lb tank and I have been keeping up with the hours of smoke time....have 28 hours and it's still over half full still.

Kat

I'm right there with Dave.  In my GOSM (not the wide body), I have always averaged around 50 hours of use per tank.

Red

You can do several cooks
yahoo.gif

The masterforge has a 15000btu burner in it. A "full" 20lb tank has 4.7 gallons of propane in it. a gallon of propane equals 91,600btus So, 4.7gal x 91,600btu/gal=430,520btus per tank. If you ran it wide open (which you should not have to do to maintain 250deg) it would give you a minimum of 28.7hrs run time. 

Barry.

Last edited:
We are lucky here in Huntsville...our local Costco has a propane refill station.  They will refill a 20 pounder for $9.99....they will refill those huge 100 pound tanks too...don't know the cost tho.

Kat

We are lucky here in Huntsville...our local Costco has a propane refill station.  They will refill a 20 pounder for $9.99....they will refill those huge 100 pound tanks too...don't know the cost tho.

Kat

:jaw-dropping: WOW that's $2.12/gallon I'm paying $3.59/gallon over here!