Prime Brisket, how should I cut it?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mtime7

Fire Starter
Original poster
Dec 26, 2014
Texas
I am pretty new to briskets, and this forum, I have never cooked a whole brisket, I have had good luck smoking brisket points, but none with flats. I was at the local HEB today and eyed 2 prime briskets at a price I could not pass, they were labeled as packers but appear trimmed to me. My question is, what is the best way to cut them smaller? I have separated points from flats before but usually the flats came out dry (may have not smoked it properly). Would it be better just to cut it down the middle?

like I was saying, I have separated the flats and points before but my flats came out bad. Would it be better to leave the layers of meat and fat by just cutting them in half?

Sorry, I can only tell you what I do. First I don't do burnt ends. That is the only reason I can see for seperating the point from the flat. Everyone does things differently, its all in what you like.

I have heard that removing the point will decrease the size slightly. I personally have trimmed off the end of the flat of a packer so I could get it in an MES30. I trimed the flat end without the point and cut it cross grain.

The only way I ever got dry brisket was by cooking to hard/fast. Course there are many here that do a hard fast and love it