Pheasant jerky

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

fire in the hole

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Jun 10, 2008
williston nd
I have a couple of pheasants and sharp tail grouse all marinated and in the smoker. I've set my heat at 150d and plan on a 5 to 6 hr smoke........to jerky. I'm new to jerk make'n.........so, do you think I'm on the right track???? Or do I need more time or temp???

Last edited:
Opps!!!! The thred is suppose to be "pheasant jerkY"
wife.gif

Very interested in seeing how this turns out. Ive got one bird left from last season and have always been curious on makeing some. Let em know how it goes.

icon_cool.gif

I have never seen nor heard of pheasant jerkY so do it and let us know how it comes out. Please don't forget the Q-View either.

I had not heard of pheasant jerky either, but have heard that if it's meat......you can make jerky. I had to give it a try and I am ver

pleased with my 1st attempt.

I soaked my sliced meat in brine for 4 hrs then into the MES for 8 hrs at 150d. Next time I may drop the time to 6 or 7 hrs.

The top photo is sharp tail grouse and the 2nd photo is the pheasant.

This is my recipe for Pheasant Jerky. There hasn't been a batch to ever return from a pheasant hunt...

15 - 20 oz. Soy Sauce - Any brand
15 oz. Worcestershire Sauce - Lea & Perrins - Preferred
15 - 20 oz. Teriyaki sauce - Any brand
4 tablespoons Dark Brown Sugar - Any brand
2 - 4 tablespoons Garlic Powder - Any brand
2 - 4 tablespoons Onion Powder - Any brand
2 - 4 teaspoons Cayenne Pepper - Any brand
2 - 4 oz. Molasses for even more flavor - Any brand

2 1/2 tablespoons Red Pepper crushed