Pellet grills smoking times always fast. NASCAR fast pork butt?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

CellPhoneGuy81

Original poster
Jul 2, 2020
I am fairly new to smoking and have a pit boss pellet grill. I have turned out great results in the first few months. Nothing has ever been over or under done that I can tell. However the times I find online never seem to be accurate, not even remotely close. I am always done at least 30% earlier than estimates.

However today was crazy. I had an 11 pound pork butt. I smoked it at 250 degrees all the way up to an internal temp of 203.

I wrapped it after three hours as it was nice and golden brown with a nice crust.

The roast was done in six hours. I know I wrapped it halfway through but I don’t understand how an 11 pound roast at 250 could ever be done that quickly.

Are used multiple thermometers to make sure my internal temp was correct.

Are you using a probe to check ambient smoker temp? Besides the one on the lid or the led. If you have the dial set at 250 you are probably cooking closer to 285. Especially after all that fat gets dripping on the heat shield. I'd check that.

Agree, you are clearly cooking hot and fast, way hotter than you think.
Not that there is anything wrong with that, I prefer hot and fast.

Are you using a probe to check ambient smoker temp? Besides the one on the lid or the led. If you have the dial set at 250 you are probably cooking closer to 285. Especially after all that fat gets dripping on the heat shield. I'd check that.