Pampering my MES

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

cmayna

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Jun 23, 2012
SF Bay Area, CA
Even though the MES smokers are supposedly insulated, I've always been pretty skeptical. Yes, they have dual walls, but still. I've been using reflectix foil for a couple years on the outside of my 40 (as per the first pic) and mentally wise for me, it's done wonders, but during the colder days, when the wind is blowing I've felt a need to take it a step further.

The 2nd picture shows a cardboard shell (from a retired bicycle box), covered with a plastic wrap, that slides down and into position. The plastic wrap is to help bounce away the cold morning breezes and help retain whatever heat tries to sneak through the cardboard.

Anyway, yesterday I tried it out smoking some Salmon nuggets and I could not believe how stable the temps were and how easy they quickly rose to their programmed positions.

Yes most of the time I will not be using the box, unless I sense it will be needed during the cold winter breezy days. The box folds up and will reside in the smoking shed. The reflectix remains on the smoker all the time.

Oh and the last 3 pics are yes, finished product from yesterday test smoke
IMG_1026.JPG
IMG_1151.JPG
IMG_1153.JPG
IMG_1155.JPG
IMG_1156.JPG

Last edited:
Looks Great---Looks kinda like a Hot Water Heater Jacket!!
And Your Nuggets look Awesome as always!!!
Thanks for showing, Craig!!

Bear