Our first Fried Turkey of 2011

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kydave

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Aug 31, 2011
Tucson, AZ
I've learned a lot from many of you and I thought it a good time to share. (It is taken from my blog - posted here in its entirety.) I know it's not about smoking a holiday bird, but I thought it would be of interest to some of you. I hope you enjoy.

---

I’ve been frying turkeys for many years. It’s a skill I learned in the Air Force – no really – sure it wasn’t formal training, but my fellow Airmen showed me how and I’ve been hooked ever since. I posted about the new fancy fryer  I got last year but never got into the preparation on this blog so I thought I would share.

For this – our first fried turkey of 2011 – I decided to go with the “tried and true” method. I made two or three of these last year. It is very simple and easy to duplicate over and over. We use a store bought marinade and injector, stab our bird and then dunk that baby in hot peanut oil.

So there you have my technique for perfect fried turkey.

Oh, you want more details? Okay – you asked for it. (grin)

The first thing you want to do is find a relatively small bird – about 10-15 lbs. Then you want to make sure it is completely thawed  before attempting to fry it. I cannot stress this enough – if the turkey is not thawed you stand the risk of literally blowing yourself up.

Don’t believe me?

We don’t want that to happen right? So  thaw the bird completely!!

Also – and just as important – turn the gas off before putting the turkey in the oil. No flame – no fire! Very important!!