• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Scott Anderson

Original poster
Jan 16, 2019
Hey folks I'm new to pellet grills and looking forward to the adventure. I just purchased a new Pit Boss 1100 Pro Series hoping that I don't have the temp swings I keep herring
20190116_100256.jpg
about... But anyway just wanted to say hey and happy smokin.

Reactions: Meat Fighter
Hey folks I'm new to pellet grills and looking forward to the adventure. I just purchased a new Pit Boss 1100 Pro Series hoping that I don't have the temp swings I keep herringView attachment 385646 about... But anyway just wanted to say hey and happy smokin.

Welcome to the Smokingmeatforum Scott... That PB 1100 Pro Series looks mighty nice. Make sure You register your smoker with Pit Boss to have access to your warranty and the customer service support for your grill if you ever need it. If You read and follow the owners manual instructions and don’t take short cuts with the understanding of your smoker, You shouldn’t have or see any wild temp swings with your grill. Here’s a few tips that will help you though.

1. Always preheat your grill for at least 20-30 mins at 300*-350* degrees prior to every cook.
2. Never just plug your grill in and set the temp to whatever temp and walk away... Always preheat your grill first.
3. If You haven’t already, you should invest in a shop-Vac and always clean the fire pot/burn pot after every cook.
4. Read, learn and understand the P Settings on your grill. This is so important and a must to prevent wild temp swings. P Setting P4 is factory default and is a good setting to start with. Never use P Settings P6-P7... If You do, your grill will have a greater chance of flaming out, especially during cold weather.