Newbie from the frozen tundra

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

MNBrownie

Original poster
Dec 29, 2018
Cyrus, MN
Brand new to using electric smokers. I bought a used Big Chief a while back and now for Christmas/Anniversary I got a Masterbuilt 30”! I have been doing a little bit of smoking on my Akorn kamado, but the electric smoking seems to be a little different.
Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

Welcome from California. There are plenty of people on the site that use that cooker. If you don’t get any help or advice open a new thread with with a question about your cooker in the title.

Hi MNBrownie!
Welcome to:
small-logo.png

Yeah, there is a learning curve to everything, and it is so with electric smokers, too.
Most have to do some adjustments, modifications, and downright corrections to get the results.

One of the best is to get an AMNPS for your MES 30. That allows you to separate the smoke generation, from the heating of your new smoker/oven. The AMNPS is nice because it will use Pellets for long hours of smoke, but can also be used to smolder sawdust for a cooler smoke.
Once the inadequacies of smoke production are corrected, you can get good results. Like a few hours of smoke, and 6 total hours of cooking. These things are really electric ovens, that can have smoke induced into them.

Many find they need an external thermometer to get better accuracy of the item they are Smoking/Cooking. Me Too! The OEM controller is rather iffy about accuracy. So separate monitoring helps a lot.
I found with mine that letting it warm up a long time actually helped get a better temperature control. That as a session progressed, the temperature would tend to settle in and become more stable.