New to forum looking for tips with anyone who has a masterbuilt propane smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Firemedic76

Smoke Blower
Original poster
May 27, 2019
being new not sure if this is the right forum but I have a masterbuilt propane two door think it’s 36” smoker, has three racks on it and I’ve had trouble regulating the temp during my last two smokes of pork and other was a while chicken. Seems to get way high and I use soaked chips and I did see on you tube a guy recommended not using the chip bowl as provided because the chips can catch fire which I did have an issue with and maybe that’s what raised the temp so he suggested a cast iron bowl or small skillet to put over the burner instead and I plan on getting the igrill2 with the extra grill temp probe Incase my door thermometer is off. Anything else anyone with this smoker could recommend modifying to make it more consistent with the temp control.

Reactions: jokensmoken
I added bricks down around the burner and filled the water pan full of sand which helped keep the smoker at a more even temp. Don't trust the thermo on the door they are normally junk.
I bought a mini 6'' Lodge C.I dutch oven at least that what they look like.
( I don't think they make them anymore) but these melting pots would work fine.
upload_2019-5-28_3-2-20.jpeg

I filled it with chips or dust then covered the top tightly with a double layer of foil then poked 5 or 6 holes in the foil with a knife or pen which kept it from flaring up and it put out plenty of smoke.

Good luck.
Dan

Reactions: JC in GB