New Member from Palm Bay, FL

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

pig-a-liscious

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Sep 25, 2013
I live in Lutz, FL.
To everyone.....today is a very special day for me Veteran's Day since I am a Vietnam War veteran but today is also a bit embarrassing as well. I joined the SmokingMeatForums sometime in September or October.  I can't recall just when but I have been maneuvering around the site, asking questions and making comments on several Forums and just determined to day that I have never announced myself on the "Roll Call" site. Ears are double the normal size and are definitely red in color......maybe "Piggy Pink" instead.

I have been smoking for the past three years utilizing a Meadow Creek SQ 36 off set stick burner doing butts, chicken, chicken wings and leg of lamb which all turned out quite well but with a lot of effort on my part.

I have wanted to upgrade to a better quality smoker so I did a bunch of due diligence this year going from one site to another looking at a wide number of smokers. Someone told me about the Kingsford BBQ Pittmasters Competition that was going on weekly on Discover America I believe so I tuned in anxiously watching what I soon found out to be some of the more notable BBQ Team competitors around the country all vying for the $50K winners prize.

I watched intently as to what they had to cook, how they did it and what king of smoker they used. Needless to say I learned a ton of information. Part of that was also the different smoker cooking methods that I was not aware of....."Hot and Fast" and "Low and Slow".