New GOSM - Question about mods

Discussion in 'Propane Smokers' started by firebaugh, Jul 11, 2008.

1. firebaugh

firebaugh Fire Starter

My new gosm wide body is currently on a UPS truck to be delivered today. [​IMG] Although I'm excited to get it put together I was thinking about all of the different mods that people have come up with for these and I was wondering if there are any that you wish you had done before it was put together or before it had a 1/4" of goo coating the insides?

2. jts70

jts70 Smoking Fanatic OTBS Member

No mods necessary with mine. Some have had to change out their smoke boxes but I was lucky and got a nice cast one.

3. flatbroke

flatbroke Smoking Fanatic

Liked the side shelves that somebody installed on theirs, I could really use one or two for mine.

4. bwsmith_2000

bwsmith_2000 Master of the Pit OTBS Member

No mods on mine. I've been using it for almost three years and love it. I do, however, like the idea of shelves. I have a table on the patio beside the GOSM so I'm OK but I do think the shelves would be nice.

5. bbq bubba

bbq bubba Master of the Pit OTBS Member

No mods necessary, season and get cookin!! [​IMG]

6. meowey

meowey Master of the Pit OTBS Member SMF Premier Member

Mine worked just fine without any mods! Enjoy your new rig!

Take care, have fun, and do good!

Regards,

Meowey

7. I use a cast fry pan for wood chips seems the chips do not burn up as fast and helps maintain heat.

8. krusher

krusher Smoking Fanatic OTBS Member

all I did was chop a coffe can where it will fit under the water pan and use that as my chip box, the one it came with will do fine, but if you do this you will get a longer time between chip changes.

good luck,, your gonna love it

9. justsmoke2

justsmoke2 Smoking Fanatic

Had my Big Block for 3 years and haven't made any mods to it.

10. I like the idea of shelves too... and the casters... will do both one of these days... LOL

11. lcruzen

lcruzen Master of the Pit OTBS Member