Need some more smoke

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

will0856

Original poster
May 18, 2013
I have an electric masterbuilt, I am having trouble getting it to continue to produce smoke at 225-250 F. It has been going now for an hour or so and it will only produce good smoke when I crank the temp up past 300F. Suggestions????

don't know anything about your smoker, but you want a thin blue smoke, some call it ninja smoke.  You can hardly see it.   What you do not want is big white smoke.  Hope that helps

I had the same problem with my MES 30, just buy AMNPS smoke generator from Todd, one of the sponsors on here. TBS everytime, up to 12 hours continous. Great service from Todd, too.

I don't have your smoker, nor do I use electric.  Are you sure it's not producing smoke?  As stated above sometimes it's almost invisible.  Does it smell smokey?  If so, I'd say carry on it'll probably turn out great.  Hopefully someone with a masterbuilt will come along and offer other advice.  Good luck.  Keep Smokin.

Preheat to 180ish. Put your meat in. Crank to 250, and put chips in. That should give you an hour of good smoke. Unless its a brisket or shoulder I don't see the need of more than an hour of chips if your smoker is well seasoned.

Or buy the amnps and have no worries.

Ok guess I was un-clear on how much smoke I should be seeing, thanks for the help guys in calming a newbie smoker down. 

I will be purchasing AMNPS here shortly thanks again everyone!