Need guidance on smoking NON-cured sausages

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

TheReluctantCraftstronaut

Original poster
Jan 3, 2019
So I'm fairly new to smoking and I'm completely new to making/smoking sausages. This past weekend I made 6 lbs of spicy Italian, 6 lbs of linguica, and 5 lbs of brats. Unfortunately, I wasn't thinking about the 40-140 in 4 hours rule, so I only used cure # 1 on the linguica because that recipe specifically called for it.

I froze half of my links raw and was planning to smoke the rest today. I would like to smoke, drop in an ice bath, dry off and vacuum seal for the freezer. But I'm concerned about balancing safety, by hitting 140 in 4 hours, but also not rendering out the fat and ruining the sausages. And to be fair, I probably should aim for 3 hours because my kitchenaid grinder/stuffer definitely took some time, so I'd guess I already hit 40+ for a short while in the process. I have a LEM stuffer on the way after this weekend's air-filled experience.

I have two questions that I can't seem to find an exact answer for.

1. I have the links tied together in traditional fashion. Should I cut them apart now that they've dried out a bit, so that they heat through more evenly or should I hang the tied links in my smoker from hooks?
2. What is a good "minimum" temp that will get me to 140 within the right amount of time so that I can try to hit 155-ish without rendering out the fat? I was originally planning to set my smoker to 225 and just run with it. I think that'll allow me to hit my temperature mark, but now I'm concerned about dry mealy sausages.

Thanks for your help.

Attachments

• Resized_20200927_132440_1833.jpg
    Resized_20200927_132440_1833.jpg
    17.1 KB · Views: 8