MES 40 All Nighter Brisket

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

adam500

Original poster
Jan 17, 2017
​Introduction:

I have been using my MES 40 smoker for several months and having great success. I figured I would go through and publish my method on this forum to help others.

Smoking a brisket is a large investment for someone new to smoking. First off, buying a packer brisket is not cheap. I typically purchase mine at a local Sam's Club for around 3.50 per pound. The smallest packer I have found was about 13 lbs, so you are easily in the $35.00 plus range. Aside from cost you also have the investment of consumption, while kind of funny... My family is small, so finding ways to eat it is challenging and often resolves around having a get together where other will be judging your cooking. The last investment is the time. Prepping and smoking times can easily go into the 30+ hour mark. This post will be written with the above in consideration.

Equipment:

Masterbuilt Electric Smoker 40"

Wood:

Oak Chips

Schedule Overview

It takes a good bit of time to prep and prepare for an all night smoke. I will provide a schedule that will match up to the section in this post with a count down to the time the brisket is ready to slice.

-36H: Prep Brisket and start rest in fridge 

-24H: Preheat smoker to 230 (7pm the night of the smoke)

-23.5H: Add wood to smoker

-23H: Add brisket to smoker and insert temp probe

-20H: Check temp and make sure you have reached 140. Reduce temp to 210 for night time unattended smoke

-12H: Spritz and check temp (Should be ~165). Increase temp back to 225

-6H: Check final temp. Should be 198-204 before pulling/wrapping/placing in cooler