Meat thawing tool

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Chasdev

Master of the Pit
Original poster
Jan 18, 2020
Got this for Christmas and just starting using it last week and I am floored at how well it works!
Can't believe I've been doing it wrong for 50 years..
In addition, if you use a vac sealer, you should freeze the meat before vac sealing and when thawing same, cut a hole in the vac seal bag to prevent the juices from getting sucked out of the flesh once it thaws.
Anyway, here's the meat thawing magic.

Attachments

• DSC00516.JPG
    DSC00516.JPG
    76.1 KB · Views: 98
  • DSC00517.JPG
    DSC00517.JPG
    84.3 KB · Views: 102
  • DSC00518.JPG
    DSC00518.JPG
    82.5 KB · Views: 95
Trying not to bring down your happiness, but those things scare me. Defrosting meat on the counter is a big no no for me.

Those things work by having a very thermally conductive metal surface that constantly absorbs ambient temperature and quickly transfers that to the rest of the tray. The problem is this works really well for the surface of the meat but not so much past that. Meat is a poor heat conductor, so the magic stops there.

I'd be worried about bacteria growing by the time the meat is defrosted. Remember, no matter what material the meat is on, room temperature is just a 72 degree oven.

To each his own but I pay attention to how thawed the meat is or gets and then I put it in the fridge once it starts to get soft.
I'll email the manufacturer and explain your concerns, if they reply, I'll post up.

FWIW, it's full of a liquid which absorbs and quickly passes the temp to the lower aluminum side where it moves to the air.