Maverick Temp Probes Questions- do you have to get them nice and silver before using them/ after a l

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

carlo olivares

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Nov 26, 2014
Manila, Philippines
Hi All, I'm a newbie who just got a 18.5 WSM. I'm only on my second smoke (Ribs first, then Pork Butt the next day). I use a Maverick ET 733 to monitor temps. My probes get very dark after smoking 6 to 10 hours. ive tried using baby wipes to wipe them clean but the probe that monitors the smoker's ambient temp remains pretty dark - i assume because its exposed to the most smoke.

My questions are:

1) Do you guys get them nice and silver again before using them?

2) Is it normal for the probes to register at different temps when starting up? During my  first smoke I noticed a 1 F diff between the 2 probes. I didnt think much of it since it was 1 degree. But on my second smoke there was a 10 F difference - when both were at room temp. Eventually it seemed to stablize but there was about a 10F difference initially even if they were both stored the same way. Just wondering if others have experienced the same thing.

Thanks

Carlo

I'm new as well, and I've only used them twice. The first time they got pretty dirty so I cleaned them with a sponge and some warm water. Got them shiny (figured it was the sanitary thing to do). 2nd time I made jerky so they did not get smokey colored, so I did not clean them.

I'm told that the probes might be 1 or 2 degrees off from each other, but that's not enough to bother me honestly. 10 degree difference seems a bit odd... I have not checked mine honestly to see if they register two different temps or not.