Masterbuilt Cold Smoker Add-On

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

sacsmitty

Original poster
Jul 13, 2015
Rocklin, CA
I'm new to the world of Masterbuilt so forgive the novice question.

I've watched a ton of videos on YouTube and I really like (and see the advantages) to the cold smoker attachment. I started pricing things out to look at the "mailbox mod" but it isn't that much less than just buying the cold smoker add-on from Amazon.

My question is simple... can anyone recommend a material that is safe to create a better seal on the top hatch of the cold smoker attachment? Like some kind of weather stripping to keep smoke from leaking out the top.

Any advice is appreciated. :)

You'll need to figure out the thickness you need, but you could probably gasket it.
Chances are a big box store, fireplace/Bar-B-Que Store, would have gasketing, or may be of help.
Myself, I don't go for "air tight". If I see a little smoke leakin I don't worry about it as long as there is smoke coming out the vent on my smoker.

Thank you for the advice. I'm used to my pellet smoker that never seemed to get good smoke. However, I put my A-MAZE-N 12" tube in and WOW, these Masterbuilts hold that smoke REALLY good. I don't think making the cold smoker lid air tight needed anymore. :)

Reactions: SonnyE
I just put a wood split on top of mine, but anything heavy enough to tighten the lid would work, like a brick or something.
full

Al

Reactions: SonnyE
I'm new to the world of Masterbuilt so forgive the novice question.